
So it has been a couple weeks since my last post, and i thought I would write about a couple things that I noticed, and not necessarily events, although I would like to talk a little bit about remembrance day first. I am still surprised that Remembrance Day is not a national holiday. I know all levels of government take it, but not everyone does. I think that it should be considered a national holiday as it has no religious affiliation, has no geographical affiliation, and has no ethic affiliation. It relates to every single free Canadian and person living in Canada. It is to honor the people that have served, and are serving, to guarantee your right to do and be whatever you want. This year it also included all the first responders which was kind of cool. After saying that, I must say I was impressed with the how empty the streets were on remembrance day indicating that more and more are taking it as a holiday, and I was impressed on how full all the ceremonies were across the city, province and country. I know a lot of this has to do with the fact that Canadian Soldiers are dying in Afghanistan and the awareness is there, and I would be curious to see what the ceremonies would look like, if we were not in Afghanistan. I myself had the honor of attending Remembrance Day in the Town of Evansburg with a friend. He laid a wreath his father. During the ceremonies, I was amazed that the whole town was there. I looked around and noticed people smoking, and people dressed in jeans and sweat pants, but this did not offend me as they were there, unlike many that simply use it as a day to sleep in or shop. I like the fact that a lot of stores remian close until 1pm to allow the staff to attend ceremonies. I guess if we can't have the whole day at least having the morning is good.
You ever notice how we are creatures of habit in the way we shop for food or things for the home ,as with many things in our lives. I noticed that I am a 2 and 4 person. Very rarely do I buy one of anything. When I picked up salad dressing, I bought 4, when I bought chips for the house, I bought 4, when I bought dip I bought 2. When I bought the individual ice cream I bought 4. Last time however they only had 3 ice creams left. Instead of buying the 3, I bought only two….weird eh..I started noticing that I was doing this more and more. Anyone else do that or notice that? Take a look in your cart next time and see if you are a numbers person. I know my mother is VERY much like this, she will buy 1 for herself, and then 2-3-4 more for others. Very rarely one thing goes in her cart. Maybe that is where I get it from.
I am starting to get into my new role at TransCanada. I don't think I like it, nor dislike it. It feels more like a class I am taking as I am learning more each day. The work is not hard, just the getting to know everyone and finding whose who in the zoo. I do however notice that working back in a pack instead of alone or I guess being the one in charge, is not my favorite, I work with some young up and comers, and sometimes they want to show how dumb you are to show how smart they are. I have one person liek that now, that has rubbed me the wrong way a couple times, and I have had to explain to him that A) I don't work for him and B) if I did, I wouldn't work for him. I think he is a smart lad and will end up at the top of the heap, unfortunately, he may not have as many friends once he gets there.
I have 2 weeks until I apply for my work VISA for the USA. I am looking forward to getting that out of the way, so I can make some plans for at least 6 months to work and live in Houston. I can get a place to live here and get some normality back into my day to day life. Traveling and living in a suitcase sucks at the best of time, doing it for 6 months really sucks. It also doesn't allow me to get in a routine, and to try at least to be healthy with my eating and living habits.
I just finished taking my 95th flight. That’s right, 95 take offs and landings this year. Well, thats not true, it is actually higher than that. The 95 is only with Air Canada, my flight total is at the 99 mark. I have now achieved my "Super Elite" status with Air Canada for next year. What that means is I get lots of upgrade certificates, I get preferential treatment for upgrades, for stand by, free lounge access, and a host of other small perks. I have had this staus once before and it was quite nice. One nice benefit is the fact I have access to more reward seats meaning I can book aeroplan miles on just about any flight which is nice when booking flights for family etc. I have had Elite status(one step down) for a few years shich is still pretty sweet especially when you need a little extra. I figure I have at least another 8 flights before the end of the year, and I should end the year with over 100,000 miles flown on 115 flights. That’s a lot of traveling.
I am looking forward to the Christmas holidays this year. having two weeks off and most of that with no plans feels nice. I think I have had too many things going on this year, and it is starting to pay a toll.
So I have 3 goals for the next 3 months, first is to get my VISA, 2nd is to try nad loose 10% of my body weight and 3rd is to get my Scuba Diving certification done before my next holiday in January. I really want to get a few dives in Punta Cana Dominican republic in January. We will see if I can achieve this.