Monday, January 11, 2010

Scarlet Takes a tumble.....

Well again, I have fallen behind on updating my blog. I am thoroughly engrossed in my new job and loving it. I even have a calendar reminder on to tell me to update my Blog, and I have failed to do so. So here is the update for this week.

Have you seen the video on youtube, called scarlet takes a tumble, well here is the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIwTYL1fwJk

That was me this morning heading to work. I came out of the apartment building side entrance and walked down a flight of stairs, and right at the bottom as I placed my right foot down I did a body slam down on my left side on my wrist. My first reaction was wholly sh*t, and then did anybody see me and then is my clothes dirty and then DAMN that hurt. I got up dusted myself off and headed on my way into work. So as I type this, my left wrist is bruised swollen and I think I broke a couple blood vessels (or bones) Time will tell!

Beside my clumsiness, the last week was pretty good I came back after holidays and was able to jump right into my job and get a lot done. I still learning and feel lost at times, but the team here is great in getting me up to speed. My procurement boss took me out for coffee for my birthday which was nice, right up to the point where I spilt mocha cappuccino on my shirt, Yes Virginia there is a Santa Claus, and Marty is a slob.

Last week I tried to take m y Jeep in for the out of province inspection that is required because I bought it in Saskatchewan. So of course the registration expired on 2 January, the day I decided to get the inspection done and register it. So I go to Canadian Tire and try to book an appointment, but I need a form from the registries, so I go to CAA and get the form, now back to Canadian tire, I wait for them til their done, an hour later I ask the status, they said that the light on the dash for tires is on, and they can’t pass me until that is out. They suggest I go to the dealer up the road to reset it, and then come back and they will check the light and I will be on my way. I am pissed. So I go to the dealer and ask how to turn the light out, when did you put air in, 1 mile, you need to drive 2-3Km to reset it. So I drive 2-3km….10-15km, still the light is on. My friend Danni suggest that maybe the spare is low, So I stop and pay $1 for air at the local rip off place known as the Petro Canada. Light is still on, so I drive to my friend Marvs place in Sta Albert to drop off some stuff, and as I go there, a pebble hits the windshield, . Now I have a small crack. So I cover it with my GPS, no one will see it.

I get to Marvs, and my light is still on. I drop off the stuff and ask Marv if he has a tire pressure gauge just to check and see if the Canadian Tire guys actually put air in the tires. Of course the rear right tire is 3 lbs under…hmmm… So on the way back to Canadian tire I stop at the local Esso and get a deal on air…only $00.50 cents here. Sure enough the light goes out. As I get in my vehicle and happy I have solved my warning light dilemma, I notice the crack in my windshield is now peaking out from behind the GPS, so I throw my gloves on the dash to further camouflage the crack. I head down St. Albert Trail, turn on 137 Ave and notice now that the crack has stretched across my windshield from end to end. Well I decide to go to Crappy Tire anyways and plead my case that the crack just happened and they seen that I didn’t have it before I left. I get to Crappy tire, and say the light is off you can check it so I can go. They tell me they still have to inspect it. Read back, they told me only the light was left and now they say they never did anything yet, so I sat for an hour and they hadn’t done anything, had I not asked, I would have sat even longer. Now I am totally pissed. I ask how long for them to do it, now there is a 2 hour wait just leave the car. Well I grabbed my keys, asked for my form and said screw you, it is no wonder I have not been back to Canadian tire in 7 years, they still suck.
The good news is I was able to get the windshield replaced and the inspection done on the Monday 4 January. My friends Brian and Cathy did this for me after I went to Calgary. In reality I am to blame for leaving it to the last minute, but that is just the way we men operate ok, its in our DNA, our blood, our past and our future. Accept it!

Ok back to me, I have been fighting a chest cold the last two weeks that started the day before my birthday (30 Dec) and it is now just starting to go away. I even stayed home the night of my birthday(New Years Eve) but I did get out for lunch and bowling, golf and dinner with my friends. That was nice to see everyone and I appreciated it all. I received a nice Edmonton Oilers pull over from them for my birthday as well.

I have been taking lots of “across the counter stuff” for my cold, especially for the mucus and the cough. Ok so the best stuff is Mucinex for my chest, which you can only get in the USA and Delsym Cough medicine which rocks for getting rid of a cough. The nice thing about Delsym is it tastes great, orangey and no bad after taste. And my cough goes away totally for like 4-5 hours. They sell it at Costco as well as at most pharmacies.

I spent the past weekend working on my receipts for my Company MSM, so I can get the accountant to start my tax return. So I took the two bags of receipts, and the two piles of paper and I spent 6 hours sorting and taping and gluing receipts to paper. I Sorted all my house bills as well lat the same time, so I am now ready to file all my house bills and almost ready for the accountant,. I still have to go online and print receipts from all my flights and cell phone bills. I was worried I could not access my receipts from Westjet as they changed their system however, I did have them in my email so I am good to go.

Well that’s enough updates for now. Hopefully I can be given a reprieve from all my blog followers(who obviously have no life!!!) and I will try and do some updates a little more often…lets say every 1 to 2 weeks……deal?

No comments:

Post a Comment