Tuesday, June 30, 2009

No Truck for you!

Well day two down and I have done not a hell of lot at work. The good thing is I am getting paid, the bad thing I am not producing. I have no computer, no login ID, no clue as to who is whom, and what I am going to do the rest of the week. We are working tomorrow and taking Friday off which is much better especially for the guys heading home to Toronto or Calgary or Edmonton. I plan on hopefully being organized and having a place to live, and shopping for said place this weekend. Nothing is more fun than buying stuff for a new house.
I sent a nasty lil email to the hiring agency I come under. Seems the question I asked them 3 TIMES and emailed them again to CONFIRM , was not enough for them to get me the correct answer. I asked them to confirm I had a vehicle, and they said yes every time, so I was good to go right up until the time I got to site. Where it was confirmed “NO vehicle for you!” I won’t dwell on this now as I am really pissed off right now. So on with the show……..
The hotel I am staying at is great, comfortable, friendly, great price; great breakfast in the morning and a great location for a visitor to this hamlet er city of Regina. I just realized it takes 20 minutes to get to anywhere’s in the city pretty much. I am going to look at an apartment tonight and it is 4 minutes by car from the refinery. I am contemplating maybe getting a bike and riding to work. That would be kewl!
The city does have two YMCA but of course the swimming schedule at the one near my place favors retirees, pregnant woman, EI beneficiaries and Stay at home moms and dads. All the family swims are during the night hours and adult swims during the day. It is opposite at the other one downtown. Hopefully a member hip is good at both. I would like to use the YMCA, but I would like the choice based on the facilities.
The people here are really friendly it seems, except when they have a steering wheel in front of their face, and then they become Beowolf! I think the green Saskatchewan license plate means “Student Driver” or Stupid driver? They seem to be really aggressive here, more so than Alberta. Maybe it is just me driving in unfamiliar territory, and I am not use to the Regina rush hour requirement.
I think I will be ok here, just will take some time to get use to the place. Wish me luck on the house hunting tonight.

No comments:

Post a Comment